Jim breaks the lake record at Earl’s View Fishery, Shropshire

It was a Sunday morning, I had loaded the car the night before, I intended to start of early because now in November the day light hours are shorter, but looking out the window I felt gutted the forecast was a light showers followed by sunshine, but somebody lied, it was p***ing down like there was no tomorrow.
Being the big brave person I am I ran for the car bloody key wouldn’t go in bo**ocks, I’m in, now what!fu** I’m going, wipers going ten to the dozen.
I approached the motor way thinking shall I turn back no on a bit further, at the next turn off I’m coming back, no fu** it go on, I arrived at the pool the bloody gates locked, but as I know the owner quite well he let me know the combination of the lock so I let myself in.
I got out of the car and walked up to the pool looking for signs of where the fish may808_460069364050231_887979064_nbe hiding, but nothing was showing except to owner clearing dead leaves from the outlet. I walked around to him greeting him with bloody
gate was locked, not good morning as i should have done,didn’t think you would come in this weather he said so didn’t bother.
Right then now I’m here where are all the fish, there all in that wet stuff Jim you just have to find em says he. (Bloody Funny i don’t think).
So i left him to it and carried on walking around, the rain was easing off, and i decided to fish up against one of the islands and another along the reeded margins. The rain stopped the sun came out and i fished all day recasting every hour, but by 3 clock I was knackered and sat back in my seat and my eyes closed, and i was off, but not for long the rod to the island danced in the rest and the bite alarm sang out Beeeeeeep and I’m on it, no need to strike the hooks are megga sharp and go deep.
She wasnt’ giving in easy i played her until she was knacked and drew her over the draw string of the net till her nose touched the spreader block and then lifted.
Once in the weight sling i raised it up and the scales said 21lb 6oz, bloody hell a lake record on the phone to the owner who came up straight away and took the photo’s and reweighed taking the sling off we settled for 19lbs 4ozs  I was buzzing,so let’s get home and print the photo.
It was a Sunday morning, I had loaded the car the night before, I intended to start of early because now in November the day light hours are shorter, but looking out the window i felt gutted the forecast was a light showers followed by sunshine, but somebody lied, it was p***ing down like there was no tomorrow. Being the big brave person I am I ran for the car bloody key wouldn’t go in bo**ocks, i’m in, now what!fu** I’m going, wipers going ten to the dozen. I approached the motor way thinking shall i turn back no on a bit further, at the next turn off i’m coming back, no fu** it go on, I arrived at the pool the bloody gates locked, but as I know the owner quite well he let me know the combination of the lock so i let myself in. I got out of the car and walked up to the pool looking for signs of where the fish maybe hiding, but nothing was showing except to owner clearing dead leaves from the outlet. I walked around to him greeting him with bloody gate was locked, not good morning as I should have done,didn’t think you would come in this weather he said so didn’t bother. Right then now I’m here where are all the fish, there all in that wet stuff Jim you just have to find em says he. (Bloody Funny i don’t think). So I left him to it and carried on walking around, the rain was easing off, and I decided to fish up against one of the islands and another along the reeded margins. The rain stopped the sun came out and I fished all day recasting every hour, but by 3 clock I was knackered and sat back in my seat and my eyes closed, and i was off, but not for long the rod to the island danced in the rest and the bite alarm sang out Beeeeeeep and I’m on it, no need to strike the hooks are megga sharp and go deep. She wasnt’ giving in easy I played her until she was knackered and drew her over the draw string of the net till her nose touched the spreader block and then lifted. Once in the weight sling I raised it up and the scales said 21lb 6oz, bloody hell a lake record on the phone to the owner who came up straight away and took the photo’s and reweighed taking the sling of we settled for 19lbs 4ozs i was buzzing,  so let’s get home and print the photo.

Leave a comment